Distinction in Stereotactic Radiotherapy

Distinction in Stereotactic Radiotherapy

ACRO, in partnership with the Radiosurgery Society® (RSS) is pleased to offer a Special Distinction in Stereotactic Radiotherapy. This program, available to practices accrediting through ACRO, is the only review specifically developed to evaluate the quality of SRS/SBRT treatment modalities.

Read the Press Release


Recognizing the rapidly changing landscape of radiation therapy with exceedingly more radiation centers and patients receiving stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) and stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT), RSS and ACRO determined that a comprehensive accreditation program specific to SRS/SBRT clinical practice and physics quality assurance was necessary. The Distinction in Stereotactic Radiotherapy accreditation program was developed by professional experts with extensive experience treating patients with SRS/SBRT.


Practices must undergo an online medical chart review and a physics review in addition to the normal accreditation process.

The medical review portion of the program consists of online chart reviews focused on six  disease sites: CNS, spine, liver, lung, pancreas and prostate.  Peer reviewers will evaluate cases within their area of expertise. A minimum of five (5) charts will be reviewed with a minimum of two (2) charts per disease site.

The physics survey process was developed by medical physicists with research development backgrounds and clinical expertise in stereotactic radiotherapy using a wide range of delivery technologies. Areas of evaluation include machinery, quality assurance, staff and training, and dose constraints specific to the delivery of SRS and SBRT treatment.

For more information about requirements and grading criteria please refer to the RSS Manual.


Jaroslaw Hepel, MD. FACRO – Medical Director, ACRO Accreditation. Dr. Hepel serves as director of the Rhode Island Hospital stereotactic radiotherapy and radiosurgery program and as an assistant professor in the department of radiation oncology at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

Simon Lo, MD. FACR, FASTRO – Medical Director, Distinction in Stereotactic Radiotherapy. Dr. Lo is Professor and Vice-Chair for Strategic Planning, Director of SBRT and Professor of Neurological Surgery at the University of Washington Department of Radiation Oncology, Medical Director of the Distinction in Stereotactic Radiotherapy Accreditation Program and Board of Director of the Radiosurgery Society.

Stanley H. Benedict, PhD, FAAPM, FACMP – Physics Director, Distinction in Stereotactic Radiotherapy. University of California, Davis, CA

Claudio Sibata, PhD – Physics Director, ACRO Accreditation.Senior Physicist – CTSI/Varian


The Radiosurgery Society® (RSS) is an international, medical professional, non-profit society consisting of physicians, physicists and healthcare professionals dedicated to advancing the education, science and clinical practice of stereotactic radiosurgery, stereotactic body radiation therapy and advancing therapies. Read More on the RSS Website.


The fee for the distinction is $3,000 per three-year and $4,000 per four-year accreditation term and is valid for the length of the accreditation term.  For more information about ACRO Accreditation fees and term lengths, please refer to the  ACRO Accreditation Manual.


Please do not hesitate the contact the ACRO Accreditation office by email at valerie@acro.org, or by phone at 206-956-3642 with any questions or comments.

ACRO Accreditation is the only US radiation oncology accrediting body to achieve ISO 9001:2015 Certification.