ACRO elects new officers and chancellors; installs new president

Posted on Categories General

At this year’s event, ACRO virtual annual meeting, we announced the newly elected officers voted on by the ACRO membership during the month of January.

ACRO Executive Committee

Joining the Executive Committee as Vice President is Dwight Heron MD, MBA, FACRO, FACR.

Dr. Heron is the System Medical Director of Oncology Services at Bon Secour Mercy Health in Youngston, Ohio and Co-found of REDJuvenate LLC, a start-up leveraging technologies that improved the quality of life in H&N and other cancer patients with the goal of empowering recovery through innovative approaches .

Said Dr. Sheila Rege, outgoing president of ACRO, “Dr. Heron embodies the true diversity of ACRO having been a resident member of the college to having recently been elected to VP. As an accomplished clinician scientist who has studied health disparities, he has provided leadership to academic & community practices alike both in the US and internationally. He attributes many of his leadership skills to the experiences afforded him in ACRO.”

Dr. Heron joined the ACRO Executive Committee at the conclusion of the ACRO Annual Meeting on Saturday, Feb. 27. Other ACRO Executive Committee members include, Dr. Sheila Rege, who moves into the role of Chair, Dr. Joanne Dragun, inducted as president, and Dr. William Noyes, secretary-treasurer.

ACRO Board of Chancellors

Three new board members were elected to the ACRO Board of Chancellors. They include:

  • Jason Efstathiou, MD, D.PHIL., FACRO, FASTRO – Dr. Efstathiou is Professor of Radiation Oncology at Harvard Medical School (HMS) and Director of the Genitourinary (GU) Division in the Department of Radiation Oncology and Clinical Co-Director of The Claire and John Bertucci Center for GU Cancers at the Massachusetts General Hospital. He holds multiple leadership positions within professional societies (ASTRO, ASCO, ABR, ACRO), and the NCI where he serves as Co-Chair of the Bladder Cancer Task Force. Within ACRO, he has served as Chair/co-Chair of the Scientific Program Committee since 2017. In addition, he has a strong proven track record in teaching and mentorship of many junior faculty, fellows/residents, and other trainees. Dr. Efstathiou holds a B.S. from Yale University, M.D. from HMS, D.Phil. from the University of Oxford, and completed his residency training in the Harvard Radiation Oncology Program.
  • Brian Lally, MD – Dr. Lally currently works at Penn Medicine Radiation Oncology at Doylestown. He serves as a Clinical Associate at University of Pennsylvania, as well as Adjunct Associate Professor University of Miami, Department of Public Health Sciences, Division of Epidemiology & Population Health Sciences. Since 2017 Dr. Lally has served on the ACRO Annual Meeting, Scientific Planning Committee, currently serving as co-chair. He also currently serves as a committee member on ASTRO Lung Cancer Resource Panel; a role he has served since 2010. Dr. Lally received his BSE and MSE in bioengineering from the University of Pennsylvania. He received his medical degree from Thomas Jefferson University and completed his residency in radiation oncology at Yale University School of Medicine.
  • Parul N. Barry, MD – Dr. Barry is a clinical assistant professor of radiation oncology at UPMC Hillman Cancer Center in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Dr. Barry received her undergraduate degree at Wellesley College and completed her medical school and residency training at the University of Louisville. Dr. Barry has served in serval leadership positions at the national level, including chairing both the Resident and New Practitioner Committees for ACRO. She currently services as the Scientific Program Committee co-chair for ACRO. Additionally, she is active within NRG Oncology and ASTRO. She is a senior associate editor for the journal Rare Tumors and associate Editor for the MedNet.

Mona Arbab, chair of the Residents Committee, and Jessica Schuster, chair of the New Practitioners Committee will also serve on the Board of Chancellors.

New ACRO President

Dr. Joanne Dragun was installed as the new president of ACRO at the conclusion of the college’s annual meeting. Dr. Dragun is the medical director of radiation oncology at GenesisCare in Jacksonville, Florida.

Dr. Dragun received her medical degree from Hahnemann University School of Medicine in Philadelphia, PA. She was chief resident of the radiation oncology program at Hahnemann University Hospital under the direction of Dr. Luther W. Brady, founding president of ACRO. She is board certified in radiation oncology.

Dr. Dragun has been a member of ACRO for 27 years, serving on the Board of Chancellors for six years. Over the past several years Dr. Dragun has served as co-chair of ACRO’s Scientific Program Committee and on the Membership Committee. She was Vice President of ACRO from 2018-2020. She has been a Fellow in the college since 2000.

Prior to becoming medical director of radiation oncology at GensisCare, Dr. Dragun served as president and CEO of Cancer Care Specialists Medical and Radiation Oncology Group in Pennsylvania and associate clinic professor of radiation oncology at University of Pittsburgh.

Outside of ACRO, Dr. Dragun is a member of the American College of Radiology, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the American Society of Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology, the Florida American Society of Clinical Oncology, and the Duval County Medical Society. She also serves on the board of directors of both the American Cancer Society and the Venango County Community Foundation.