Dr. Stephen Hahn nominated to head FDA

Posted on Categories General

The ACRO Board of Chancellors congratulates Stephen M. Hahn, MD, FASTRO, who was nominated today by President Donald Trump to be the next Commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Dr. Hahn, who currently serves as the Chief Medical Executive of the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, will be the first radiation oncologist to hold the position at FDA, pending Senate confirmation. In the interim, it has been announced that Dr. Brett Giroir will step into the role of Acting Commissioner, replacing Dr. Norman E. “Ned” Sharpless.